Day 71

11 Mar

Theme Around the House

Jen – Fountain Hills, AZ

This is one of my most favorite places in the house – and not just because I’m here often. I have two plans from my wonderful Mother-in-law (3 verities of mint (L) and a plant I’m not sure of (R)) A couple of prisms that cast rainbows around my kitchen as the sun goes down, some pretty blue glass bottles and a few little birds. The curtains I made from some fabric I picked up at Ikea, and the hearts I made by melting crayons between wax paper for Valentines Day (but I like looking at them, so I haven’t taken them down yet). It makes dinner prep and dishes a little more easier to do with so many things I enjoy looking at.

Karin – Minneapolis, MN

This room used to be frustrating and not much of anything. It’s grown on me and I quite like it. It’s the “front room” by our front door. The part of the room you can’t see, that I’m standing in, has our table in it where we eat dinner when we have guests over. What you do see in the photo is my new(ish) fave rug from IKEA, 2 Expedit bookshelves from IKEA that hold our records and my scrapbooks (our record player is on one of them), and a desk/table passed to us from The Nelsons who didn’t want it anymore. We use it as an entry table and the drawers are full of candles! Underneath are baskets with photobooks and other random items that don’t fit anywhere else. After 7 years I think I’ve convinced Trevor that we need to paint this paneling white. It’s a big project to take on!

4 Responses to “Day 71”

  1. Jenny March 11, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Karin, I love the way the paneling looks now. Consider not paining it white yet. We have tons have painted woodwork and we find it hard to maintain. I’m sure whatever you do would look cute. You have great taste.

    • karin March 12, 2012 at 7:06 am #

      Jenny, what do you find you need to do to maintain the painted wood? Are you having to do a lot of touch-ups? We also have wood paneling in our bedroom and back hallway and we painted that and haven’t had any problems. The main reason we painted was to add more light since it was sooo dark and it’s made a huge difference!

  2. Anonymous March 12, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    I love how organized you are! Wish I could be the same way!

    • karin March 12, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      I’ve gotten more organized than ever living in this little house! Small spaces make you get organized!

Leave a Reply

